There are three major rivers in the Blackdown Hills National Landscape, the Otter, the Culm and the Yarty. Each has its source in the northern Blackdown Hills before wending its way southward.

The River Culm rises from a spring at RAF Culmhead, and then flows west through Hemyock, Culmstock, then Uffculme, and onward to meet the River Exe near Exeter.

The source of the Otter is north of Otterford, where a stream feeds the Otterhead Lakes. In the Blackdown Hills National Landscape, the River Otter passes through Churchinford, Upottery and Monkton. Then it drifts onwards through East Devon National Landscape to the English Channel.

Rising at Staple Hill, the River Yarty flows south through Bishopswood, Yarcombe, Stockland, Dalwood and Membury, before meeting the River Axe just southwest of Axminster.

Start typing and press Enter to search